2015 Indiana Farm Bureau Award Winners

By  |  0 Comments

Three of Indiana Farm Bureau’s most prestigious awards recognize some of Indiana’s top young farmers.

1 of 4
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Young Farmer Excellence in Ag Award finalists - Mike and Sarah Hertsel

Excellence in Agriculture

Mike and Sarah Hertsel of Elkhart County won the Indiana Farm Bureau’s Young Farmer Excellence in Agriculture Award. The award recognizes young farmers who do not derive the majority of their income from an agricultural operation they own.

After 10 years as a livestock feed specialist, one of Mike’s customers approached him with an opportunity to work on a diversified grain and livestock operation. Today, his responsibilities on the farm include planting, making hay, maintaining equipment and taking care of the hogs and beef cattle.

Mike and Sarah live in Syracuse with their three young children. After college, Mike got involved on their county Farm Bureau board. Since then, the Hertsels have both become active in their county’s Young Farmer program. They appreciate the opportunities Farm Bureau provides to share agriculture’s story, particularly with those who do not come from an ag background.

1 of 4
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.